Home > films and reviews, others > All About My Mother (1999)

All About My Mother (1999)

Where do I start?!

All About My Mother, is a Spanish film by the genius Pedro Almodovar. I am a big fan of his work for the simple yet amazing reason that he is one of the best directors that can portray and tell stories about women. He is an expert about women, he is openly gay, yet he was able to develop a spectacular narrative about men (Talk To Her, 2002); that’s how great he is!  His films are well-known for their complex narratives, for always having some musical or theatrical reference in them, and their artsy-film quality. They are a feast to the eyes because of his distinctive cinematic techniques. His movies talk to you in a way that’s almost visceral yet it’s done in a manner that unfolds slowly and skillfully that by the time you finish one, you’ll be staring at the credits with a sense of awe. Yes I love PEDRO ALMODOVAR, and seeing All About My Mother gave me another reason to adore him more.

This film is said to be Almodovar’s tribute to women, and is probably one of the, if not the best,  film I’ve seen that discusses their multifaceted nature. The movie is made up of an ensemble of characters that represents various archetypes, yet every one of them is unique because of the intricate details of their life stories. Do you have to be a woman to enjoy this film? Probably, unless you are a man who loves film for the sake of loving them, then this would be quite an experience. Most of Almodovar’s film deal with women in their most vulnerable and intense of moments – to say one is better than the other is difficult for a fan. Together, they seem to form this one big cloud of ode to the better half of the human race and to choose a favorite (or the best) would be like saying one woman’s story is superior than the other – it never is. So I won’t do that. Nor will I compare this to Volver or Live Flesh – both with similar undertones yet a stand-alone by its own merits. What I would say though, is that I really need to find a way to see Women On the Verge of Nervous Breakdown, which is one of his earlier films that has established him as a “woman director”.

 I hate discussing about the details of a film’s plot. I think it looses its merits when you know too much about it prior to watching it;  so I won’t do that here.  What I loved most about this film? Just like in most Almodovar films: the truthfullness of the ideas it juggles to discuss. How it was melodramatic, unadulterated, and complicated all at the same time – uniquely Almodovar yet universally acceptable truths that any person, regardless of origin, will be able to relate to. Almodovar is a genius (i can say this 10thousand times and i’ll still be in awe), and I can’t wait to see the rest of his repertoire.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

